Warning: explode() expects parameter 2 to be string, array given in /homepages/16/d362039747/htdocs/2014Brasil/wp-content/plugins/seo-ultimate/includes/jlfunctions/arr.php on line 50

Warning: array_map(): Argument #2 should be an array in /homepages/16/d362039747/htdocs/2014Brasil/wp-content/plugins/seo-ultimate/includes/jlfunctions/arr.php on line 51

Warning: array_map(): Argument #2 should be an array in /homepages/16/d362039747/htdocs/2014Brasil/wp-content/plugins/seo-ultimate/modules/meta/meta-keywords.php on line 125

Warning: array_diff(): Argument #2 is not an array in /homepages/16/d362039747/htdocs/2014Brasil/wp-content/plugins/seo-ultimate/modules/meta/meta-keywords.php on line 127

Warning: array_slice() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in /homepages/16/d362039747/htdocs/2014Brasil/wp-content/plugins/seo-ultimate/modules/meta/meta-keywords.php on line 128

Warning: implode(): Invalid arguments passed in /homepages/16/d362039747/htdocs/2014Brasil/wp-content/plugins/seo-ultimate/modules/meta/meta-keywords.php on line 129


Uruguay - Brazil World Cup 2014

Buy Now Click here to buy your Uruguayan Snapz case.

FIFA World Cup finals history

Prior to the 1970s, when they began a lengthy period in the doldrums, Uruguay were widely regarded as one of the giants of world football. That status was founded on their two FIFA World Cup™ wins, the first of them coming at home in 1930 and the second in Brazil 20 years later, when they stunned the host nation with a shock 2-1 win at the Maracana, an epoch-defining game that will forever be known as El Maracanazo. Their run to the semi-finals at Mexico 1970 would be their last flourish for some considerable time, however.

In the years that followed the Uruguayans appeared only infrequently in the global showpiece. After failing to qualify for USA 1994 and France 1998, La Celeste made their return at Korea/Japan 2002 only to go out in the group phase and then lose out to Australia in the play-off for a place at Germany 2006.

The key players

Strikers Luis Suarez and Edinson Cavani have become the standard bearers for Uruguayan football and the national team over the last couple of years. The Liverpool man ended the South American preliminaries as the leading scorer with 11 goals, and was the second most-used player by coach Oscar Tabarez.

Current coach: Oscar Washington Tabarez
Best performance in a FIFA competition: FIFA World Cup Uruguay 1930 and Brazil 1950 (winners), Men’s Olympic Football Tournament Paris 1924, Amsterdam 1928 (winners), FIFA U-20 World Cup Malaysia 1997 (runners-up), FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Rio de Janeiro 2006 (runners-up), FIFA U-17 World Cup Mexico 2011 (runners-up)
Former stars: Hector Scarone, Angel Romano, Obdulio Varela, Roque Maspoli, Alcides Ghiggia, Ladislao Mazurkiewicz, Pedro Rocha, Rodolfo Rodriguez, Hugo De Leon, Carlos Alberto Aguilera, Ruben Sosa, Enzo Francescoli, Alvaro Recoba